Marriage Builders
Posted By: PerPan Averting Separation/Divorce - 02/12/23 01:17 PM
Dear all,

I am new here, I am married to my wife close to 18 years. We have two wonderful kids, 11 and 13.
I am a researcher and my wife had to make a lot of compromises… move from one country to another… The relationship was indeed not great - seldom intimacy and conversation/affection on both sides. I substituted it with a lot of work that I now know did not fulfil me and showed increasingly demands, judgement and sometimes angry outbursts.

Past September, my wife started an affair with a male co-worker. End of the year she changed her job.
Beginning of the year, she led me know that she is not sure whether there is any love for me and she was considering a divorce.
She said she felt empowered and saw this empowerment - that I wanted for her all the time (granted not using the most ineffective means) - as liberating. We agreed to try counselling - she stopped contacting the lover - a RELATE trained marriage counsellor in the UK was approached.

I felt that the 4-5 sessions we had did not provide guidance… only vague feelings was questioned, which was very frustrating.
I understand that our relationship is very weak, but I had hoped for clear guidance. I recognised my shortcomings, tried not to pressure her…
In any case, she also never deleted the contact number to the lover. The wife’s lover is fighting for their marriage too.
As you can imagine, I have stopped all negative habits for the past 6 weeks, yet I could not show any affection/positive steps… as there is too much pain on her side.

After the finale session (the first individual one) / this Friday, my wife let me know that she does not have the energy to rebuild the marriage.

I am sad of this outcome - I did not object and said that it might be good to give her space.
She seems more relaxed now but I am afraid of a messy separation and divorce with my kids as ultimate victims.