Marriage Builders
Posted By: hhhh Getting agreement to do MB - 12/09/15 12:56 PM
I've looked to no avail for this question. Not having found it, here it is. I'm pretty new to MB. I think seriously that my W and I would benefit greatly by doing home study course. But I don't have enthusiastic agreement yet. I have grudging agreement. She doesn't share her feelings well. I'm an optimist, she's a pessimist. Having gotten most of the way thru Love Busters I am encouraged and heart broken- encouraged to finally hear in ways I can understand what's wrong, and heart broken in that I see now all the things I've done over the years to get her into withdrawal.
One of them is independent behavior. How can I get enthusiastic agreement to do MB program when she's not on board and seems to think it's just another thing she needs to go along with?
Married 36 years, 3 adult kids. I'm the romantic who needs touch. She couldn't care less.
My plan at this point is to finish LB with her, actively stop doing them all, retake the LB questionnaires now that we know more. The first time she didn't even want to fill it out, so I asked questions and wrote things down.
Next will be to actively try meeting EN. She scoffs at the idea of spending 15 hours per week with me rather than HGTV and Pinterest.
My hope for years has been that someday she might like me as much as the dog.
Posted By: MelodyLane Re: Getting agreement to do MB - 12/09/15 01:06 PM
In your situation I probably would try to get her in the full course, so you have the support of Dr Harley and a marriage coach. If you can persuade her to do that, they might be able to turn this around. I don't imagine she will EVER be "enthusiastic" about any marriage recovery, so I think that is an unrealistic expectation on your part.

Almost every couple who signs up for the online course has one reluctant spouse.