Marriage Builders
Posted By: Homelover Relationship Help - 06/16/15 02:11 AM
First, not sure where to post this, so if I'm in the wrong place, please advise. (Sorry for the long post, but the goal is to be back here with a new attitude and be productive)

Second, I've been here before a few times and have created conflict and disagreement, not my intention, but just didn't turn out well. I've commented about things and opinions that were not appropriate here and scolded accordingly.

I'm back for two reasons. I feel there are some good people here that can help my situation, and second, perhaps I can help others from what I've learned.

In a nutshell, I've been married for over 40 years and went thru an amicable divorce because of a major issue that I had been fighting for several years that was never solved, which was alcohol abuse. Toward the end, we were totally disconnected, and did not react together at all, and I started an affair with a lady that gave me support that eventually lead to a close relationship. There were some red flags with her, but I thought I could conquer them. I also told the wife my intend to find a girlfriend (called the OW), before it started, and she encouraged me. After the divorce and separation I moved in with the OW. The now ex wife was on her own, but we respected each other, did not fight from the day I said we were splitting up and we really trusted each other. We have always had a care for each other as good friends, and after the end, there was no reason for NC or a total shut out. We still communicated, but no social or dating other that how you doing? We did care about each others progress in life. She turned her life around dramatically, and I was very proud of her. The red flags that plagued my relationship with the OW brought if to an end, which we both knew was coming. While we worked on a potential long term relationship, we didn't have the compatibility necessary to do so. However, most of the time, we were quite happy,