Marriage Builders
Posted By: 77club Newly separated - 02/18/10 07:13 AM
I have been posting in the Recovery forum for almost 2 years under "fog, grieving, how long?"

My husband moved out tonight.

He will be back tomorrow to work out the details.

I asked him to consider separation as he didn't want to do anymore MC work after 18 mos. with Steve Harley and says he still loves the OW.

He has been NC for 2 years and OW is getting married.

He says he doesn't know who he is, much is swirling around in his head.

I suggested IC for him after DDay. His childhood issues created behaviors that got him into a loveless marriage.

Adultery was the outcome after 28 years of marriage.

He has come out of most of the fog except realizing that his feelings for the OW are not love.

He is starting to do IC.

I feel he needs time to deal with working on all that before he can work on recovering a marriage - if he ever actually decides to do so.

I can't continue to invest in a relationship with someone who has never loved me and 5 years after meeting OW and 2 years after DDay says he has "feelings of romantic love" for her.

I know many WS use "space" and "time alone" as excuses to continue an A without interference.

In my husband's case, I believe he needs this.

I know chances increase with separation that he will move towards divorce.

My college age daughters have yet to hear about the separation.

Any advice for me?
Posted By: LovingAnyway Re: Newly separated - 02/18/10 07:23 PM

Sounds to me like you're enforcing a boundary...and a healthy one, I think, after many previous enforcements. If he has truly had NC for virtually two years, then there's no way his romantic feelings didn't go away after the first year of withdrawal. I'm sorry...his addiction to the feelings was maintained in some way (in self-deceptive stories in his head, fantasies, something).